I love Manchester.

So yesterday I went to Manchester with a new-ish friend from college called Rachel. We decided that we both needed to get our Christmas shopping done as its only 26 days until Christmas..,.26! :O Rachel doesn’t know Manchester that well so once we had been to the main high street shops for presents, I showed Rachel the Northern Quarter which is the best part of Manchester (well in my biased opinion). It’s full of all the old industrial, victorian buildings that have been converted into flats, boutiques, cafes and vintage shops. If you ever stop by Manchester  you should go to Affleck’s Palace, it’s a really cool building cram packed with a lattice of tiny shops where you can get anything from vintage clothes, 10 inch spiky flatforms, olde worlde sweets, a bead emporium and tattoos.

The Outside
The Outside

It’s like a labyrinth with lots of winding corridors, stairs surrounded by newspapered or graffitied walls and you just never know where you’re going to end up. So if you’re looking to get lost for a bit then off you jog.

One of the stairwells
One of the stairwells

I just love the city as a whole and it makes me even more excited to think that I could be living there next year…a whole city of inspiration just waiting to be found! Travel agent wannabe alert…oo-er.

I bought myself some beads from The Bead Shop in Affleck’s, if you like making stuff you would be in heaven there! Do you like my new necklace then? I do. Obviously.

IMG_7955

I have noticed that I’ve started caring a lot less what people think of what I wear, how i do my hair etc, I just wear whatever I want because I want to, which is the way it should be. I think it’s college that made it change a bit for me, there’s so many different people there and everyone is just accepted and that makes me happy 🙂 Ooh a smiley face for emphasis there. I’m not completely there yet with the self-confidence business but I will be.

We witnessed some aggressive street drumming ( I can’t say I could work out any particular rhythm) and some Green Party fracking protests which is always interesting to see. There were some strange people wearing scary white masks shouting out nonsensical protests, sadly didn’t get a picture of them but I got that one over there… the one with the big red sign? I also got a photo of the photobox in Urban Outfitters which is just cool. Personally I would have wanted to keep my picture but plastering them all over the box looks good too.

20141129_115945

Urban Outfitters, Manchester Central
Urban Outfitters, Manchester Central

I thought I’d just show you a watercolour painting Rachel did of me in art on Friday, Glenn has done one too, I am apparently their muse! Haha, er, no, we just draw each other all the time. I don’t look like Beyonce as requested. I look a bit sad actually.

By Rachel.
By Rachel
5 thoughts on “I love Manchester.

      1. did you get yourself to affleck’s by any chance? 😛 i live two hours away but its really easy to get to

Leave a Reply

