I made it onto the YAB! So Excited :D

   The YAB, is the Youth Advisory Board from NDCS (national deaf children’s society) where 15 deaf people aged 12-18 join to make life better for deaf people in the UK. Its an amazing opportunity and I have so many ideas of what can be done/changed. Last years team campaigned to make health services more accessible for deaf people and I can’t wait to get started on the new campaign when we decide on it!

   To get on it I had to fill in a form about myself and then as they liked the form, NDCS staff interviewed in Manchester. It was completely nerve racking and I worried that I didn’t say enough…but I guess they liked me! 🙂 There’s three residential weekends where I get to meet the other board members (the first one is in a few weeks), I’m looking forward to it as I don’t know many deaf people and I’d love to make new friends and learn more BSL. It’s in Birmingham, where I’ve only been briefly (to a cadbury’s world haha) so its all new to me 🙂

Wish me luck!!

 

More on the YAB from previous members’ views:

http://youngpeople.ndcsbuzz.org.uk/go.php?structureID=S49FAE2CCD445F&ref=P4F8FD10FDE107

Leave a Reply

